RSS

Quotes

20 Aug

I haven’t written a short story in awhile, but I did find a bunch of quotes to give y’all! I’ll see if I can get a story up sometime, but for now, hope these satisfy:

“Can a mortal ask questions which God finds unanswerable? Quite easily, I should think. All nonsense questions are unanswerable.” -C.S.Lewis

“Man do not reject the Bible because it contradicts itself, but because it contradicts them.” -E. Paul Hovey

“I have learned that what we have done for ourselves alone dies with us, but what we have done for others remains and is immortal.” -Unknown (J.R.R.Tolkien may have said that, but don’t trust my judgement.)

“Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile.” -Albert Einstein

“I was trying to daydream, but my mind kept wandering.” -Steven Wright

“Friendship is born at the moment when one person says to another ‘What! You too? I thought I was the only one.'” -C.S.Lewis

“God understands our prayers even when we can’t find the words to say them.” -Unknown

“Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart.” -William Wordsworth

“A woman’s heart should be so lost in God that a man needs to seek Him to find her.” -C.S.Lewis

“A man can no more diminish God’s glory by refusing to worship Him than a lunatic can put out the sun by scribbling the word ‘darkness’ on his cell wall.” -C.S.Lewis

“Aim at heaven and you will get earth thrown in. Aim at earth and you get neither.” -C.S.Lewis

“Christianity if false, is of no importance and if true, of infinite importance. The only thing it cannot be is moderately important.” -C.S.Lewis

“Courage is not simply one of the virtues, but the form of every virtue at the testing point.” -C.S.Lewis

“Don’t use words too big for the subject. Don’t say ‘infinitely’ when you mean ‘very’; otherwise, you’ll have no word left when you want to talk about something really infinite.” -C.S.Lewis

“Education without values, as useful as it is, seems to rather to make man a more clever devil.” -C.S.Lewis

“Failures are finger posts on the road to achievement.” -C.S.Lewis

“Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art…it has no survival value; rather it is one of these things that give value to survival.” -C.S.Lewis

“I believe in Christianity as I believe in the sun. Not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.” -C.S.Lewis

“If we cut up beasts because they cannot prevent us and because we are backing our own side in the struggle for existence, it is only logical to cut up imbeciles, criminals, enemies, or capitalists for the same reasons.” -C.S.Lewis

“It is so much easier to pray for a bore than to go see one.” C.S.Lewis

“A man who says no patriot should attack the war until it is over…is saying no good son should warn his mother of a cliff until she has fallen.” -G.K.Chesterson

“A stiff apology is a second insult… The injured party does not want to be compensated because he has been wronged; he wants to be healed because he has been hurt.” -G.K.Chesterson

“A yawn is a silent shout.” -G.K.Chesterson

“An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.” -G.K.Chesterson

“And when it rains on your parade, look up rather than down. Without the rain, there would be no rainbow.” -G.K.Chesterson

“Art consists of limitation. The most beautiful part of every picture is the frame.” -G.K.Chesterson

“Education is the period in which you are being instructed by somebody you do not know about something you do not want to know.” G.K.Chesterson

“Fable is more historical than fact because fact tells us about one man and fable tells us about a million men.” -G.K.Chesterson

“How you think when you lose determines how long it will be until you win.” -G.K.Chesterson

“I owe my success to having listened respectfully to the very best advice, and then going away and doing the exact opposite.” -G.K.Chesterson

“If I can put one touch of a rosy sunset in the life of any man or woman, I shall feel that I have worked with God.” -G.K.Chesterson

“If I had one sermon to preach, it would be a sermon against pride.” -G.K.Chesterson

“It isn’t that they can’t see the solution. It is that they can’t see the problem.” -G.K.Chesterson

“Faithless is the man that says farewell when the road darkens.” -J.R.R.Tolkien

“I am told that I talk in shorthand and then smudge in it.” -J.R.R.Tolkien

“It’s the job that’s never started that takes longest to finish.” -J.R.R.Tolkien

“I do not love the sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend.” -J.R.R.Tolkien

“Wise men speak because they have something to say; fools because they have to say something.” J.R.R.Tokien

“If you smile when no one else is around you truly mean it.” -J.R.R.Tokien

“The burned hand teaches best.” -J.R.R.Tokien

“I warn you, if you bore me, I shall take my revenge.” -J.R.R.Tokien

“Fair speech may hide a foul heart.” -J.R.R.Tokien

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2011 in Journal Entries, Non-Fiction, Quotes

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Quotes

  1. desertautumn

    August 26, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    My favourite: “A woman’s heart should be so lost in God that a man needs to seek Him to find her.” -C.S.Lewis
    Good collection of quotes 🙂

     
  2. Elly

    September 1, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    That’s my favorite, too, DesertAutumn! 😀

    Very nice, I love quotes. Here’s one more that I love:

    One of the most beautiful gifts in the world is the gift of the gift of encouragement. When someone encourages you, that person helps you over a threshold that you might have otherwise have never crossed on your own. ~John O’Donohue

     

Leave a Reply

 
